District Level Information of Chittoor (Andhra Pradesh)
About Chittoor District (Andhra Pradesh)

Chittoor district, often called as Chittur is a District of Andhra Pradesh situated in its Rayalaseema region with its headquarters located at Chittoor city. The term Chittoor is derived from two Tamil words Chit meaning small and ooru meaning place. Both the word together means a small town. Earlier, Chittoor was a part of Tamil country of Thondai Nadu. By taking Chittoor, Palamaneru, Chandragiri from the then North Arcot district of Madras State on the other hand Madanapalli, Vayalpadu from Kadapa and Punganur, Sri Kalahasti, Karvetinagar From Zamindari provinces, the present Chittoor district was formed on 1st April, 1911. After some time 319 villages of Chittoor district added to the then Kanchipuram district and Thiruvallur districts of Tamil Nadu on 1st April, 1960 since the demands were raised by Ma.Po.Si and other leaders of Tamil Nadu. At the ancient period, the fourth capital of Vijayanagar Empire was the Chandragiri, a suburban area of Tirupati.

Chittor V. Nagaiah also called as Vuppaladadiyam Nagayya, a distinguished multilingual Indian film actor, the spian, composer, director, producer, writer and playback singer from Andhra Pradesh was born on 28th March, 1904 in the Chittoor district. In his honor, the Mahati Chittor Nagaiah Kalakshetram of arts was established in the Chittoor district. He was also honoured by a National Award for the Best feature film in telegu-Ramadasu (1964). Chittoor Subramanyam, an eminent Indian classical musician was born on 22nd June, 1898 at Punganur in the district. He was honoured by numbers of not able awards like wise Sangeetha Kalanidhi (1954), Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (1964), Sangeetha Kalasikhamani Award (1964) and many more.

Geographically, the district lies at 13°22'N latitude, 79°10'E longitude and 762 m Altitude. In the year 2021, there was a total 21.61% forest area of total geographical area. The district encompasses a geographical area of 15,152 sq. km. and it is bounded by YSR district on the North, Nellore district on the North East, Anantapur district on the North West, Vellanur District, Tiruvallur district and Krishangiri district of Tamil Nadu on the South and Kolar district of Karnataka on the West. The climate of the district is extremely hot during the summers. Most of its rainfall occurs during the monsoon season. The actual rainfall in the district was 1446.9 mm. in the year of 2021-22.

Administration wise, the district is divided into 3 revenue divisions namely Chittoor, Tirupati and Madanapalle. Moreover, it comprises 66 sub-districts, 22 towns and 1,493 villages. The administrative language in the district is Telugu.

According to 2011 census the district has a population of 41,74,064 including 20,90,204 are males and 20,83,860 are females. The district has a sex ratio of 997 (females for every 1000 males). In the year 2001-2011 the population growth rate in the district was 11.43% out of which 10.61% were males and 12.27% were females. As per 2011 census the major religion in the district is Hindu with 89.54% of the total population. The population density in the district is 275 persons per sq. km. According to 2011 census the principal languages in the district are Telugu and Tamil with 79.19% and 10.36%. In the year 2020 the number of live births in the district was 63,415 out of which 33,152 were males and 30,263 were females. In the same year the number of deaths in the district was 37,940 out of which 23,349 were males and 14,591 were females.

The economy of Chittoor district is mainly based on agriculture. The district producesmango, grain, sugarcane, and peanut in a high quantity. There are some small scale industries of oil seed, poultry and milk in the district. It has also some large industries of textile and granite which contributes to its economy to a great extent. In the year 2006 the Government of India declared Chittoor as one of the country's 250 most backward districts and currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF). In the year 2020-21 the gross domestic product in the district was Rs. 82,47,000 lakhs at current price and Rs. 53,16,100 lakhs at constant prices in the year 2011-2012. The net domestic product in the district during the period 2020-21 was Rs. 74,16,500 lakh at current price and Rs. 46,72,800 lakh at constant prices in the year 2011-2012. The Per Capita Income or NDDP, At Factor Cost during the period 2020-21 was Rs. 1,69,578 at current price and Rs. 1,06,842 at constant prices in the year 2011-2012.

The district provides a platform for higher education. Sri Venkateswara University is a renowned university of Andhra Pradesh. The first women's university of Andhra Pradesh is Sri Padmavati Mahila Visvavidyalayam located in Tirupati. There are numerous reputed colleges and other educational institutions in the district. The district has also National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL) of the Department of Space. As per 2011 census the literacy rate in the district is 71.53% including 79.83% are males and 63.28% are females. The total number of literates in the district is 26,67,878 including 14,84,794 are males and 11,83,084 are females.

Nara Chandrababu Naidu, a well known Indian politician and the current President of Telugu Desam Party (political party) in Andhra Pradesh was born on 20th April, 1950 at Naravari Palle in the district. At present he is serving his second non-consecutive term as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. Madabhushi Ananthasayanam Ayyangar, an illustrious Indian politician and the first Deputy Speaker and then Speaker of Lok Sabha in the Indian Parliament was born on 4th February, 1891 at the Thiruchanoor village in the district. He was also served as the Governor of Bihar (1962 to 1967). He was a member of Indian National Congress.

The old and antique buildings and temples in the district allure many travellers from all over the world. The oldest drama club of Andhra Pradesh i.e. Ram Vilas Sabha is situated here in the district. Talakona, a place located about 20 km of western side of Tirupati in the district is best known as shooting spot. It is also full of mesmerising waterfalls which makes the place peaceful. Chandragiri Fort, a historical fort, built in the 11th Century with its Raja Mahal (Palace) is situated in Chandragiri in the Chittoor district. Gurramkonda Fort, another 500 years old historical fort in the district. Some notable temples in the district are Sri Veera Vijaya Anjaneya Swamy temple, Lord Venkateswara temple, Dakshina Kailasam temple, Shree Veeranjaneya Swamy temple and Sri Kodandarama Swamy old temple.

India's most comprehensive e-resource of socio-economic data. A cluster of 56 associate websites
Provides election data for all 543 parliamentary and 4120 state assembly constituencies
A collection of over 4000 data-oriented publication in print, eBook, eFlipbook & web-based access formats
A comprehensive collection of Infographics, videos, maps and charts on various socio-economic and electoral Insights
An e-resource providing socio-economic statistical information about India, its states, sectors, regions, and districts.
A one-stop-app for all who are craving for the latest economic facts and figures of India.
One-of-a-kind online learning platform offering specialised courses and also providing interactive learning.
Twenty Three years of serving socio-economic and electoral research fraternity in india and abroad.
© Datanet India Pvt. Ltd.