District Level Information of Koraput (Odisha)
About Koraput District (Odisha)

The district of Koraput got its name from its headquarters town, Koraput. Some legends believe that the word Kora of the name of Koraput district is taken from Khora, a sect of people who still inhabit in the nearby villages district. Whereas one other theory highlighted that Koraput is a corrupted form of ‘Karaka-Pentho’. The term “Karaka” literally means ‘hail-stone’. As per its history, Koraput district was associated with valiant and dreaded atvika people in 3rd century. Pushkari city of the Koraput district was the capital during the rule of Nalas which was shifted to Joypore in the 17th century during the rule of Vikram Dev of the Solar dynasty. Earlier, the region was the part of Madras Presidency. The district came under the rule of Satavahans, Ikshvakus, Nalas, Ganga kings and kings of Surya vansha time to time. The district was the headqarter during the British period. In October, 1992 Koraput district was divided into Malkangiri, Rayagada and Nabarangpur district. Presently, it comes under the Red Corridor. The district is the home for many tribes such as the Bonda, Porajas, Koyas and Didayis.

Geeta Mahalik is a well known Odissi classical dancer. She was awarded with Padam Shri in 2014. She was also honored with Kendra Sangeet Natak Akademi Award in the year of 2010, Odisha Sangeet Natak Akademi Award in the year of 2012 and Gramini Award. She is the founder Director of Geeta's Upasan.

Geographically, the district has a total 8,807 sq kms. area and occupies the rank 3rd in State and 84th in India on the bases of this size. It lies at 18081' N latitude, 82071' E longitude and 870 m altitude. In the year 2021, there was a total 24.51% forest area of total geographical area. The district is bounded by Nabarangpur District, Kalahandi District and Rayagada District in the North, Andhra Pradesh in the South and East, Andhra Pradesh in the West and Malkangiri District in the South West. Machhakunda River, Bansadhara River, Kolab River are the main rivers, pass through the district. The climate of the district is extremely hot in the summers and fairly cold in the winters. Most of its rainfall occurs in the monsoon season. The actual rainfall in the district was 1543.7 mm in the year of 2021-22.

Administratively, the district is divided into 21 sub-districts, 07 towns and 2,042 villages. Oriya is its administrative language. The district came into existence on 1st April, 1936. It has administrative headquarters located at Koraput town which is situated at the distance of 483 kms. from the State Capital.

Demographically, according to the 2011 census, the district has a total number of 3,38,205 households with a total population of 13,79,647 comprising 6,78,809 are males, and 7,00,838 are females which leads it to rank 15th in the state and 355th in India. The density of population of the district is 157 (persons per sq Kms.). The sex ratio is pegged at 1032 (females per 1000 males) while the child ratio stands at 979 (females per 1000 males). As per 2011 census the percentage of major religions practiced by the people of this region is Hindu with 93.80% of the total population. The population growth rate during the period of 2001-2011 was 16.86% including 14.91% were males and 18.81% were females. According to 2011 census the principal language in the district is Oriya with 78.19%. In the year 2020 the number of live births in the district was 26,874 out of which 13,846 were males and 13,028 were females. In the same year the number of deaths in the district was 12,871 out of which 7,428 were males and 5,443 were females.

Economically, the district is dependent on industries primarily. In the year 2011-12 the gross domestic product in the district was Rs. 7,00,028 lakhs at current price and Rs. 4,32,694 lakhs at constant prices in the year 2004-2005. The net domestic product in the district during the period 2011-12 was Rs. 6,06,595 lakh at current price and Rs. 3,64,130 lakh at constant prices in the year 2004-2005. The Per Capita Income or NDDP, At Factor Cost during the period 2011-12 was Rs. 43,715 at current price and Rs. 26,242 at constant prices in the year 2004-2005. It is considered as one of the 19 most backward regions of Orissa and receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Program. Paddy, finger millet, maize, different types of pulses, sugarcane, mango, cashew nut, sweet potato, turmeric are grown here primarily. Hindustan Aeronautics Limited, NALCO, BILT Jeypore, Kolab Hydroelectric Power Station, Machkund Hydroelectric Power Station are some of the major industries of the district. Jeypore tract is the centre for rice production. The district is also rich in mineral deposits.

Education wise, according to the 2011 census, the literacy rate in the district is 49.21% including 60.32% are males and 38.55% are females. The total literate population in the district is 5,68,090 out of which 3,40,843 are males and 2,27,247 are females. Siddharth Institute of Engineering and Technology, Vyomayana Samstha Vidyalaya, Sunabeda, Aeronautics College, Sunabeda Women's Junior College, Sunabeda Women's Degree College, Govt. High School, Samanta Chandrashekhar Institute of Technology and Management, Semiliguda (SCITM), IEM Group Of Institutions, Samanta Chandra Sekhar Institute of Technology & Management, Jagannath Vidyapitha, Jevan Jyoti Public School, Kusumguda High School, Kakiriguma High School, Vikram Dev College and Champi High School are name of the some main educational institutes of the district.

Giridhar Gamang belongs to the BJP. He is the former Chief Minister of Odisha. He was the part of the Lok Sabha in 1972, 1977, 1980, 1984, 1989, 1991, 1996, 1998 and 2004. Jhina Hikaka belongs to the Biju Janata Dal (BJD). He is the part of the 16th Lok Sabha. He also served as the MLA from Laxmipur assembly constituency.

The district has some historical and religious places to visit which are famous worldwide. These places are Duduma Waterfall (Machkund), Gupteswar, Dumuriput, Nandapur. In the year of 2019, there were total 12,34,192 domestic tourists and 4,041 foreign tourists.

India's most comprehensive e-resource of socio-economic data. A cluster of 56 associate websites
Provides election data for all 543 parliamentary and 4120 state assembly constituencies
A collection of over 4000 data-oriented publication in print, eBook, eFlipbook & web-based access formats
A comprehensive collection of Infographics, videos, maps and charts on various socio-economic and electoral Insights
An e-resource providing socio-economic statistical information about India, its states, sectors, regions, and districts.
A one-stop-app for all who are craving for the latest economic facts and figures of India.
One-of-a-kind online learning platform offering specialised courses and also providing interactive learning.
Twenty Three years of serving socio-economic and electoral research fraternity in india and abroad.
© Datanet India Pvt. Ltd.