District Level Information of Yavatmal (Maharashtra)
About Yavatmal District (Maharashtra)

Yavatmal district, a part of the Amravati division is a district of Maharashtra with its administrative headquarters located at Yavatmal city. Legends believe that during the era of Mahabharata, Yavatmal, along with earlier Berar province was a part of the famous Vidarbha kingdom. In the reign of Ashoka (272 to 231 BCE) also Berar was a significant part of the Mauryan Empire. During different periods of times the Berar region was ruled by different prominent dynasties namely the Satavahana dynasty (2nd century BCE-2nd century CE), the Vakataka dynasty (3rd to 6th centuries), the Chalukya dynasty (6th to 8th centuries), the Rashtrakuta dynasty (8th to 10th centuries), the Western Chalukya (10th to 12th centuries), and finally, the Yadava dynasty of Devagiri (late 12th to early 14th centuries). Then a period of Muslim rule was started when Alauddin Khilji, Sultan of Delhi came to the region and conquered it in the early 14th century. After sometime when the Bahmani Sultanate was separated from the Delhi Sultanate in the mid of the 14th century, the place of Berar automatically came under the rule of the Bahmani Sultanate. Later, the Mughals also captured it and ruled it for a definite period of time. In 1853, the British came to the place and started to rule over it. During their administration Berar was divided into East and West Berar with present day’s Yavatmal district being included in East Berar.

Kazi Syed Karimuddin, an illustrious member of the Constituent Assembly of India that framed the Indian Constitution was born on 19th July, 1899 in the Yavatmal district.

Geographically, the district lies at 20039'N latitude, 78012'E longitude and 445 m altitude. In the year 2019, there was a total 19.20% forest area of total geographical area. The district encompasses a geographical area of 13,582 sq km. and in terms of geographical area it occupies the ranks of 6th in the state and 27th in India. It is bounded by Amravati district and Wardha district on the North, Nanded district and Andhra Pradesh on the South, Chandrapur district on the East and Parbhani district and Akola district on the West. During the summer the climate of the district remains extremely hot. Most of its rainfall occurs in the monsoon season. The actual rainfall in the district was 725.4 mm in the year of 2018-19.

Administration wise, the district is divided into 16 tehsils namely Arni, Umarkhed, Kalamb, Pandharkawada Kelapur, Ghatanji, Zari Jamani, Darwha, Digras, Ner, Pusad, Babhulgaon, Mahagaon, Maregaon, Yavatmal, Ralegaon and Wani. Moreover, it comprises 18 towns and 1,853 villages. The administrative language in the district is Marathi.

According to 2011 census the district has a population of 27,72,348 out of which 14,19,965 are males and 13,52,383 are females. The district has a sex ratio of 952 females for every 1000 males. In the year 2001-2011 the population growth rate in the district was 12.78% including 12.19% are males and 13.40% are females. The population density in the district is 204 persons per sq. km. In the year 2017 the number of live births in the district was 52,539 including 27,515 were males and 25,024 were females. In the same year the number of deaths in the district was 16,110 including 9,496 were males and 6,614 were females. As per 2011 census the major religion in the district is Hindu with 81.21% of the total population. According to 2041 census the principal languages in the district are Marathi and Hindi with 67.57% and 19.00%.

Agriculture is the backbone of the economy of the district. Most of the lands in the district are use for agricultural purposes. More than half of its population are engaged in agriculture in order to earn their livelihood. The chief agricultural products in the district are cotton, teakwood, lime, oranges, etc. Yavatmal town is popularly known as "Cotton City". Both the cotton-ginning and pressing are carried on in the region of Yavatmal. The adoption of the new agricultural technologies amongst the farmers of the district helps to increase the production of various agricultural items. Industrially, also the district is quite well developed. The foremost industrial centres in the district are at MIDC Lohara, Darwha, Digras, Pusad, Umerkhed, Wani, Umari, Pandharkawada, Ralegaon and Babhulgaon. In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj declared Yavatmal as one of the country's 250 most backward districts and currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF). In the year 2017-18 the gross domestic product in the district was Rs. 28,33,700 lakh at Current Price and Rs. 22,73,000 lakh at Constant Prices in the year 2011-2012. In the year 2013-14 the net domestic product in the district was Rs. 18,68,900 lakh at Current Price and Rs. 10,45,600 lakh at Constant Prices in the year 2004-2005. In the year 2013-14 the Per Capita Income or NDDP, At Factor Cost in the district was Rs. 66,287 at Current Price and Rs. 37,085 at Constant Prices in the year 2004-2005.

The district is well-known as an abode of several reputed educational institutions. It provides a platform for higher education. Some of its renowned educational institutions are namely Shri Vasantrao Naik Government Medical College, Government Polytechnic, Government Residential Women's Polytechnic, Jawaharlal Darda Engineering and Technical Institute, Dr. Bhausaheb Nandurkar College of Engineering and Technology, Jagdamba College of Engineering, etc. As per 2011 census the literacy rate in the district is 82.82% including 89.41% are males and 75.93% are females.

Vasantrao Phulsing Naik, a veteran Indian politician who served as the 4th Chief Minister of Maharashtra from 1963 until 1975 was born on 1st July, 1913 at Pusad in the Yavatmal district.

The district has several centres of attraction which allures many travellers from different parts of the country as world. Borgaon Dam, located in the Yavatmal district is a popular spot in for relaxation. Every year many visitors from far distance places come to this place in order to spend some quality time with their families. Prerna Sthal, located in the Yavatmal city was constructed in the memory of freedom fighter and social activist named Jawaharlal Darda. The place is decorated with beautiful garden which spreads over 80,000 feet. Shardashram, an important History Research Institute of Yavatmal was founded by Dr. Y. K. Deshpande in 1932. The institute conducts many prominent researches in the field of ancient Indian history. Some other notable places of interest in the district are Tipeshwar Wildlife Sanctuary, Painganga Wildlife Sanctuary, Shri Ranganatha Swamy Mandir, Shri Chintamani Ganesh Mandir, Khateshwar Maharaj Temple, Mahadev Hemadpanthi Temple and many more.

India's most comprehensive e-resource of socio-economic data. A cluster of 56 associate websites
Provides election data for all 543 parliamentary and 4120 state assembly constituencies
A collection of over 4000 data-oriented publication in print, eBook, eFlipbook & web-based access formats
Soon to be launched, a comprehensive collection of Infographics, videos, maps and charts on various socio-economic and electoral Insights
Twenty Two years of serving socio-economic and electoral research fraternity in india and abroad.
© Datanet India Pvt. Ltd.