District Level Information of Lalitpur (Uttar Pradesh)
About Lalitpur District (Uttar Pradesh)

Lalitpur district, a part of Jhansi division is a district of Uttar Pradesh state with its administrative headquarters located at Lalitpur town. Earlier Lalitpur district was a part of the Chanderi state. A Bundela Rajput who was descended from Rudra Pratap Singh of Orchha founded the district Lalitpur in the 17th century. In the 18th century Chanderi, along with most of the part of Bundelkhand came under the domination of Maratha. In 1812 Chanderi was annexed by Daulat Rao Sindhia from Gwalior. In the year 1844, British captured the place of Chanderi and the Chanderi district became a part of British India, with its district headquarters located at Lalitpur town. In the Mutiny, 1857, the British lost the territory and only managed to regain it back in 1858. In 1861, a portion of the district i.e. the west of the Betwa, with Chanderi, was returned to Gwalior state. On the other hand the remaining part was renamed as Lalitpur district. From the period of 1891 to 1974 it was a part of Jhansi district but Lalitpur was carved out from Jhansi district in 1974. In the year 1976 Lalitpur was emerged as a separate district in the map of Uttar Pradesh.

Geographically, the district lies at 24°69'N latitude, 78°41'E longitude and 428 m altitude. In the year 2021, there was a total 11.54% forest area of total geographical area. The district encompasses a geographical area of 5,039 sq. km. and it is bounded by Jhansi district on the north, Sagar district and Tikamgarh district of Madhya Pradesh on the east and Guna district of Madhya Pradesh on the west. The climate of district is characterised as sub tropical climate. It remains extremely hot during the summer and fairly cold during the winter. The actual rainfall in the district was 832.4 mm in the year of 2021-22.

Administration wise, the district is divided into 3 tehsils namely Lalitpur, Mehroni and Talbehat. There are 1 Lok Sabha seat and two Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha constituencies.

According to 2011 census the district has a population of 12,21,592 (persons) including 6,41,011 (males) and 5,80,581 (females). The district has a sex ratio of 906 females for every 1000 males. in the year 2001-2011 the population growth rate in the district was 24.94 (persons) out of which 23.41 (males) and 26.68 (females). In the year 2020 the number of live births in the district was 26,490 including 13,699 were males and 12,791 were females. In the same year the number of deaths in the district was 2,351 out of which 1,386 were males and 965 were females. As per 2001 census the major religion in the district is Hindu with 94.75% of the total population. According to 2011 census the principal language in the district is Hindi with 99.18%.

Agriculture is the backbone of the economy of the district. Some of its chief agricultural crops are rice, soybean, wheat, oilseeds, maize, pulses, barley, jowar, etc. Most of the lands in the district are used for agricultural purpose. More than half of its population are engaged in agriculture since it is scantily industrialized. Only a few industries of stone idol, handloom and brass are available in the district. In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj declared Lalitpur as one of the country's 250 most backward districts which is currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF). In the year 2020-21 the gross domestic product in the district was Rs. 10,99,211 lakh at Current Price and Rs. 6,57,850 lakh at Constant Prices during the year 2011-2012. The Net Domestic Product in the district during the period 2020-21 was Rs. 9,65,558 lakh at Current Price and Rs. 5,62,180 lakh at Constant Prices in the year 2011-2012. The Per Capita Income or NDDP, At Factor Cost in the district during the period 2020-21 was Rs. 66,028 at Current Price and Rs. 38,444 at Constant Prices in the year 2011-2012.

The district is an abode of numerous reputed educational institutions. It also provides platform for higher education. Some of its recognised educational institutions are Sudarshan Degree College, Pahalvan Gurudeen Mahila Mahavidyalya, Nehru Maha Vidyalaya, Government Degree College, Pandit Deendayal Upadhaya Government College, Nagar Palika Girls College etc. As per 2011 census the literacy rate in the district is 63.52% (persons), 74.98% (males) and 50.84% (females).

During the year 2021, there were 8,34,228 domestic tourists who visited these places of the district. Every year numerous travellers from different parts of the country as well as world come to this district in order to enjoy its centres of attraction with historical and religious significance. Deogarh, on the right bank of the Betwa River is located at a distance of 123 km. from Jhansi. The place is full of numerous antique historical monuments of the Guptas, Gurjara-Pratiharas, Gonds, Mughals, Bundelas and Marathas.  Jain Tirthankar Shantinath temple is an ancient temple of this place and the shape of its idol is based on religious and ethical background. Barah temple of the district was constructed by the Chandela kings. Some other temples made by them are Gajendra Moksha, Nar-Narayan and Vishnu. The district has also some other notable places of interest such as Neelkantheshwar Trimurti (Pali), Ranchourji, Pavagiri, Devmata, Machkud Ki Gufa, Tuvan Mandir, Ata Mandir, Kshetrapalji Temple, etc.

India's most comprehensive e-resource of socio-economic data. A cluster of 56 associate websites
Provides election data for all 543 parliamentary and 4120 state assembly constituencies
A collection of over 4000 data-oriented publication in print, eBook, eFlipbook & web-based access formats
A comprehensive collection of Infographics, videos, maps and charts on various socio-economic and electoral Insights
An e-resource providing socio-economic statistical information about India, its states, sectors, regions, and districts.
A one-stop-app for all who are craving for the latest economic facts and figures of India.
One-of-a-kind online learning platform offering specialised courses and also providing interactive learning.
Twenty Three years of serving socio-economic and electoral research fraternity in india and abroad.
© Datanet India Pvt. Ltd.